NINA Board names 2017 officers

The Northern Illinois Newspaper Association Board has named its 2017 officers. Jay Dickerson with the Galena Gazette is president. Wally Haas with the Rockford Register Star is first vice president. Tammie Sloup with The Times of Ottawa is second vice president. Jim Slonoff with The Hinsdalean is treasurer. Roger Ruthhart with The Dispatch/Rock Island Argus is past president/at-large member. In addition, Shelley Hendricks, adviser of the Northern Star at Northern Illinois University, is communications coordinator for the board. And Jason Akst, a journalism instructor at NIU, is executive secretary.

Throughout the year, NINA hosts journalism training events, an annual contest, a scholarship program for high school students and more.