Mid-State Newspapers Dominate 2018 Illinois Press Association Contest

Downstate and mid-state papers cleaned up in the Illinois Newspaper Association’s 2018 best newspaper contest this year, with the exception of a few Northern Illinois perennial powerhouses.

Screen Shot 2018-06-12 at 12.19.34 PMThe Kane County Chronicle claimed the Will Loomis Memorial Trophy, IPA’s top award in the large, non-daily newspaper category, and the Galena Gazette took the Harold and Eva White Memorial Trophy, awarded to the best medium-sized non-daily newspaper.

Other sweepstakes winners were newspapers based in Peoria, Champaign, Galesburg and Paxton.

Illinois’ top newspapers were honored June 8 at the Illinois Press Association’s annual convention in Bloomington-Normal.

More than 100 daily and non-daily newspapers competed in 36 editorial categories.

Who Were Big Winners?

IPA 2005 Logo Color

The Sweepstakes Trophies are awarded to newspapers earning the most points in six different circulation divisions.

Points are awarded for first place through honorable mention in most contest categories including general excellence, photography, newswriting, opinion writing, design, community service and editorial page.

The Journal-Star in Peoria

Screen Shot 2018-06-12 at 12.22.06 PM

The Journal Star in Peoria won the Stuart R. Paddock Memorial Sweepstakes Trophy for large dailies. Coverage of the Caterpillar headquarters leaving Peoria contributed to the newspaper’s victory.

Runner-up for the Paddock Trophy was the Chicago Sun-Times. In third place was the Daily Herald Group in Arlington Heights.

The News-Gazette in Champaign

Screen Shot 2018-06-12 at 12.21.46 PM

In the medium-sized daily newspaper category, The News-Gazette in Champaign took top honors. They were awarded the Mabel S. Shaw Memorial Sweepstakes Trophy.

The Northwest Herald in Crystal Lake claimed second place, and the Quincy Herald-Whig won third.

The Register-Mail in Galesburg

Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 3.45.00 PM

In the small daily newspaper category, The Register-Mail in Galesburg claimed top honors. The newspaper was awarded the Patrick Coburn Award of Excellence.

Coming in second for the Coburn Award was the Daily Chronicle in DeKalb, followed by the Pekin Daily Times.

Kane County Chronicle in St. Charles

Screen Shot 2018-06-12 at 12.21.30 PM

In the large, non-daily newspaper category, the Kane County Chronicle in St. Charles claimed the Will Loomis Memorial Trophy.

The Suburban Life Core Group in Downers Grove received second place. The Austin Weekly News in Chicago received third place.

The Galena Gazette in Galena

Screen Shot 2018-06-12 at 12.21.17 PM

The Harold and Eva White Memorial Trophy is awarded to a medium-sized non-daily newspaper. Winner this year was The Galena Gazette.

Second place went to the Bureau County Republican in Princeton. And in third place was The Hinsdalean in Hinsdale.

Ford County Record in Paxton

Screen Shot 2018-06-12 at 12.21.06 PM

The Ford County Record in Paxton claimed ownership of the David B. Kramer Memorial Trophy, which is awarded to the best small, non-daily newspaper in Illinois.

The Mahomet Citizen received second place. And the third place award was won by the El Paso Journal.

The Missouri Press Association and Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association judged the more than 2,500 editorial entries.

The Illinois Press Association, located in Springfield, represents approximately 450 daily and weekly newspapers.

Tons of Great Stuff

There was a ton of great work represented in the 2018 IPA winners.

Screen Shot 2018-06-12 at 12.15.30 PMJust to name a few, Northern Illinois-based newspapers taking first place in the General Excellence category included the Daily Herald and the Suburban Life.

The Sun-Times won the Community Service category for a “Watchdog Special Report” headlined “Blood Money.” The Daily Chronicle took first in its division for a Community Service entry about helping minorities find health care.

The Rockford Register Star’s Wally Haas took first place for Editorial Page.

In the Most Innovative Project category, first place in the big-dailies category went to the Sun-Times’ Stephano Esposito for a look at the Illinois Bicentennial titled “Illlinois 200.”

The Most Innovative Project in Division B went to Hillary Dickerson and Carter Newton for stories of immigration.

SOURCE: Illinois Press Association news release, website

Read More

Screen Shot 2018-06-12 at 12.17.15 PM