Daily Herald, Evanston RoundTable general excellence winners in NINA competition

DeKALB — Regional journalists and journalism educators gathered virtually Thursday for the Northern Illinois Newspaper Association’s annual awards ceremony. 

The Daily Herald won the general excellence award in the daily category, and the Evanston RoundTable won the general excellence award in the nondaily category. The general excellence categories replace the sweepstakes awards, which previously were awarded to the organizations who had the best showing in the competition. 

The 2019 Donald R. Grubb Award for Publishing Excellence for nondaily journalism officially was presented to the Galena Gazette. The Galena Gazette also won this sweepstakes award in 2015, 2016 and 2018. Due to a tabulation error, the award was not presented to the Galena Gazette at the association’s 2019 banquet.  

More than 17 nameplates submitted about 297 entries in NINA’s 2020 news competition.

The ceremony featured keynote speaker Matt Dietrich, public information officer for the Illinois State Board of Elections. Dietrich said journalists should expect that election night might end with some races and the outcome of the tax amendment being too close to call. Mail-in ballots can be counted in Illinois until Nov. 17, Dietrich said. 

NINA has been serving journalists and journalism educators in Northern Illinois in conjunction with the Communication Department of Northern Illinois University for 58 years.