Board of Directors

President

Jay Dickerson
The Galena Gazette, Galena
815-777-0019 / jdickerson@galgazette.com
Term expires 2018

1st Vice President

Wally Haas
Rockford Register Star
(815) 987-1359 / whaas@rrstar.com
Term expires 2016

2nd Vice President
Tammie Sloup
The Times, Ottawa
815-431-4041 / tammies@mywebtimes.com
Term expires 2016

Treasurer
Jim Slonoff
The Hinsdalean
(630) 323-4422 / jslonoff@thehinsdalean.com
Term expires 2018

Past President/Member at Large

Roger Ruthhart
The Dispatch / The Rock Island Argus
(309) 736-3517 / rruthhart@qconline.com
Term expires 2016

Executive Secretary
Jason Akst
NIU Dept. of Communication
jakst@niu.edu

Communications Coordinator
Shelley Hendricks
Adviser
Northern Star, NIU
815-753-4239 / shendricks@niu.edu

NINA Board members

Sharon Boehlefeld
The Observer, Rockford Diocese
815-399-4300 / sboehlefeld@
rockforddiocese.org
Term expires 2016

Dan Campana
Self
dan@dancamcom.biz
Term expires 2018

John Etheredge
Kendall County Record Newspapers
630-385-4409 / jetheredge@shawmedia.com
Term expires 2017

Kathy Balcazar
Kane County Chronicle
(630) 845-5368 / kbalcazar@shawmedia.com
Term expires 2018

Diane Dungey
Daily Herald, Arlington Heights
847-427-4515 / ddungey@dailyherald.com
Term expires 2017

James Fuller
Daily Herald, Arlington Heights
847-608-2726 / jfuller@dailyherald.com

Phil Jurik
Suburban Trib editor / Chicago
pjurik@chicagotribune.com

Tom Martin
The Register-Mail, Galesburg
309-343-7181 ext. 250 / tmartin@register-mail.com

Margarita Mendoza
The Observer, Rockford Diocese
815-399-4300 / MMendoza@RockfordDiocese.org

Rick Nagel
Self
ricknagel23@gmail.com
Term expires 2018

Eric Olson
Daily Chronicle, DeKalb
815-756-4841 X2257 / eolson@shawmedia.com
Term expires 2016

Tom Parisi
Northern Illinois University Division of Marketing and Communications
(815) 753-3635 / tparisi@niu.edu
Term expires 2018

Patricia Szpekowski
PR Strategies & Communications
847-468-0210 / pmsadv@sbcglobal.net
Term expires 2018

Penny Wiegert
The Observer, Rockford Diocese
(815) 399-4300 / pwiegert@rockforddiocese.org
Term expires 2017

Stan Zoller
Lake Forest College
847-421-5278 / sezoller@gmail.com
Term expires 2017

COMMITTEES
OUTREACH COMMITTEE
Chair: Balcazar
Members: Boehlefeld, Hendricks, Slonoff, Szpekowski, Dungey, Wiegert, Nagel, Ruthhart

EDUCATION COMMITTEE
Chair: Haas
Members: Zoller, Etheredge, Akst, Hendricks, Ruthhart

TRAINING COMMITTEE
Chair: Olson
Members: Dungey, Hendricks, Dickerson, Akst, Ruthhart, Sloop, Dickerson

AD HOC WEBSITE COMMITTEE
Hendricks, Akst, Nagel, Boehlefeld

AD HOC CONTEST COMMITTEE
Hendricks, Nagel, Szpekowski, Ruthhart, Dungey, Boehlefeld

NIU Departmental Support
Gary Burns
Chair, Communication Department
815-753-7028 / gburns@niu.edu

 

NINA Board Terms

Bylaws: No fewer than 15, each to serve 3-year terms

Class of 2019 (6)

Roger Ruthhart

Tom Parisi

Margarita Mendoza (Sharon Boehlefeld term)

Wally Haas

Eric Olson

Tammie Sloup

 

Class of 2017 (6)

Penny Wiegert

John Etheredge

Dan  Campana

Stan Zoller

Diane Dungey

Tom Martin

 

Class of 2018 (6)

Kathy Balcazar

Jim Slonoff

Jay Dickerson

Pat Szpekowski

Rick Nagel

Jim Fuller

 

Tom Parisi (appointed March 2016); Dan Campana & Tom Martin  (appointed June ’16), Jim Fuller (appointed Sept. ’16)

 

Jason Akst and Shelley Hendricks are appointed to their positions and do not serve terms.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s