Board of Directors


Tammie Sloup
The Times, Ottawa
815-431-4041 /
Term expires 2021

1st Vice President
James Fuller
Daily Herald, Arlington Heights
847-608-2726 /
Term expires 2021

2nd Vice President
Margarita Mendoza
El Observador
555 Colman Center Drive
Rockford, IL 61108

Jim Slonoff
The Hinsdalean
(630) 323-4422 /
Term expires 2021

Past President
Jay Dickerson
The Galena Gazette, Galena
815-777-0019 /
Term expires 2021

Member at Large
Roger Ruthhart
The Dispatch / Rock Island Argus
1720 Fifth Ave.
Moline, IL 61265

Executive Secretary
Jason Akst
NIU Dept. of Communication

Communications Coordinator
Shelley Hendricks
Northern Star, NIU
815-753-4239 /

NINA Board members

Dan Campana
Term expires 2020

Diane Dungey
Daily Herald, Arlington Heights
847-427-4515 /
Term expires 2020

John Etheredge
Kendall County Record Newspapers
630-385-4409 /
Term expires 2020

Phil Jurik
Suburban Trib editor / Chicago

Margarita Mendoza
The Observer, Rockford Diocese
815-399-4300 /

Rick Nagel
Kane County Outreach
Term expires 2021

Eric Olson
Daily Chronicle, DeKalb
815-756-4841 X2257 /
Term expires 2019

Tom Parisi
Northern Illinois University Division of Marketing and Communications
(815) 753-3635 /
Term expires 2018

Roger Ruthhart
The Dispatch / The Rock Island Argus
(309) 736-3517 /
Term expires 2019

Patricia Szpekowski
PR Strategies & Communications
847-468-0210 /
Term expires 2021

Penny Wiegert
The Observer, Rockford Diocese
(815) 399-4300 /
Term expires 2020


Chair: Nagel
Members: Hendricks, Fuller, Szpekowski, Dungey, Wiegert, Mendoza, Sloup

Chair: Etheredge
Members: Campana, Akst, Hendricks, Ruthhart, Parisi, Dickerson, Sloup

Chair: Dickerson
Members: Jurik, Slonoff, Olson, Akst, Ruthhart, Sloup, Hendricks

Chair: Ruthhart
Hendricks, Nagel, Szpekowski, Dungey, Dickerson

NIU Departmental Support
Gary Burns
Chair, Communication Department
815-753-7028 /

NINA Board Terms

Bylaws: No fewer than 15, each to serve 3-year terms

Class of 2021 (5)

  • Jim Slonoff
  • Jay Dickerson
  • Pat Szpekowski
  • Rick Nagel
  • Jim Fuller

Class of 2020 (6)

  • Penny Wiegert
  • John Etheredge
  • Dan  Campana
  • Diane Dungey
  • Tom Martin

Class of 2019 (6)

  • Roger Ruthhart
  • Tom Parisi
  • Margarita Mendoza (Sharon Boehlefeld term)
  • Wally Haas
  • Eric Olson
  • Tammie Sloup

Jason Akst and Shelley Hendricks are appointed to their positions and do not serve terms.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s