Board of Directors

Officers

President

Tammie Sloup
The Times, Ottawa
815-431-4041 / tammies@mywebtimes.com
Term expires 2018

1st Vice President

James Fuller
Daily Herald, Arlington Heights
847-608-2726 / jfuller@dailyherald.com

2nd Vice President
TBA

Treasurer
Jim Slonoff
The Hinsdalean
(630) 323-4422 / jslonoff@thehinsdalean.com
Term expires 2018

Past President/Member at Large

Jay Dickerson
The Galena Gazette, Galena
815-777-0019 / jdickerson@galgazette.com
Term expires 2018

Executive Secretary
Jason Akst
NIU Dept. of Communication
jakst@niu.edu

Communications Coordinator
Shelley Hendricks
Adviser
Northern Star, NIU
815-753-4239 / shendricks@niu.edu

NINA Board members

Kathy Balcazar
Kane County Chronicle
(630) 845-5368 / kbalcazar@shawmedia.com
Term expires 2018

Dan Campana
DanCamCom.biz
dan@dancamcom.biz
Term expires 2018

Diane Dungey
Daily Herald, Arlington Heights
847-427-4515 / ddungey@dailyherald.com
Term expires 2017

John Etheredge
Kendall County Record Newspapers
630-385-4409 / jetheredge@shawmedia.com
Term expires 2017

Phil Jurik
Suburban Trib editor / Chicago
pjurik@chicagotribune.com

Tom Martin
The Register-Mail, Galesburg
309-343-7181 ext. 250 / tmartin@register-mail.com

Margarita Mendoza
The Observer, Rockford Diocese
815-399-4300 / MMendoza@RockfordDiocese.org

Rick Nagel
Kane County Outreach
ricknagel23@gmail.com
Term expires 2018

Eric Olson
Daily Chronicle, DeKalb
815-756-4841 X2257 / eolson@shawmedia.com
Term expires 2016

Tom Parisi
Northern Illinois University Division of Marketing and Communications
(815) 753-3635 / tparisi@niu.edu
Term expires 2018

Roger Ruthhart
The Dispatch / The Rock Island Argus
(309) 736-3517 / rruthhart@qconline.com
Term expires 2016

Patricia Szpekowski
PR Strategies & Communications
847-468-0210 / pmsadv@sbcglobal.net
Term expires 2018

Penny Wiegert
The Observer, Rockford Diocese
(815) 399-4300 / pwiegert@rockforddiocese.org
Term expires 2017

Committees

OUTREACH COMMITTEE
Chair: Nagel
Members: Boehlefeld, Hendricks, Balcazar, Fuller, Szpekowski, Dungey, Wiegert, Mendoza, Ruthhart, Dickerson

EDUCATION COMMITTEE
Chair: Etheredge
Members: Campana, Akst, Hendricks, Ruthhart, Martin, Parisi, Dickerson

TRAINING COMMITTEE
Chair: Olson
Members: Jurik, Slonoff, Olson, Dungey, Dickerson, Akst, Ruthhart, Sloup

CONTEST COMMITTEE
Chair: Ruthhart
Hendricks, Nagel, Szpekowski, Dungey, Boehlefeld, Dickerson

NIU Departmental Support
Gary Burns
Chair, Communication Department
815-753-7028 / gburns@niu.edu

NINA Board Terms

Bylaws: No fewer than 15, each to serve 3-year terms

Class of 2020 (6)

  • Penny Wiegert
  • John Etheredge
  • Dan  Campana
  • Stan Zoller
  • Diane Dungey
  • Tom Martin

Class of 2019 (6)

  • Roger Ruthhart
  • Tom Parisi
  • Margarita Mendoza (Sharon Boehlefeld term)
  • Wally Haas
  • Eric Olson
  • Tammie Sloup

Class of 2018 (6)

  • Kathy Balcazar
  • Jim Slonoff
  • Jay Dickerson
  • Pat Szpekowski
  • Rick Nagel
  • Jim Fuller

Jason Akst and Shelley Hendricks are appointed to their positions and do not serve terms.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s