Board of Directors

Officers

President

Patricia Szpekowski, APR

  • PR Strategies & Communications, Inc.
  • 847-468-0210 / pmsadv@sbcglobal.net
  • Term expires 2024

1st Vice President

John Lampinen

  • jlampinen@dailyherald.com
  • Term expires 2022

2nd Vice President

Sharon Boehlefeld

  • sboehlefeld@gmail.com
  • Term expires 2024

Treasurer

Dan Campana

  • Communications Senior Manager, Emergency Nurses Association
  • Contact: dan@dancamcom.biz
  • Term expires 2023

Past President

Dan Campana

Executive Secretary

Jason Akst

  • NIU Dept. of Communication
  • Contact: jakst@niu.edu

Communications Coordinator

Shelley Hendricks

  • Adviser, Northern Star, NIU
  • Contact: 815-753-4239 / shendricks@niu.edu

NINA Board members

Dennis Anderson

  • Shaw Media
  • Contact: danderson@shawmedia.com
  • Term expires 2022

Donnell Collins

Jay Dickerson

  • The Galena Gazette, Galena
  • 815-777-0019 / jdickerson@galgazette.com
  • Term expires 2024

Anne Halston

Cristi Kempf

Margarita Mendoza

  • El Observador, 555 Colman Center Drive, Rockford, IL 61108
  • Contact: 815-399-4300; mmendoza@rockforddiocese.org
  • Term expires 2024

Rick Nagel

  • Kane County Connects
  • ricknagel23@gmail.com
  • Term expires 2022

Tom Parisi

  • Northern Illinois University Division of Marketing and Communications
  • (815) 753-3635 / tparisi@niu.edu
  • Term expires 2022

Roger Ruthhart

  • The Dispatch / The Rock Island Argus
  • (309) 736-3517 / roger.ruthhart@gmail.com
  • Term expires 2022

Penny Wiegert

  • The Observer, Rockford Diocese
  • (815) 399-4300 / pwiegert@rockforddiocese.org
  • Term expires 2023

Committees

2021 NINA Committee Assignments

Contest Committee

  • Chair: Jay Dickerson
  • Nagel, Hendricks, Szpekowski, Akst, Kempf, Ruthhart

Education Committee

  • Chair:
  • Ruthhart, Parisi, Hendricks, Akst, Nagel

Membership Committee

  • Chair: Open
  • Campana, Mendoza, Wiegert, Lampinen, Dickerson

Outreach Committee

  • Chair: Pat Szpekowski
  • Nagel, Campana, Kempf, Wiegert

Training Committee

  • Chair: Tom Parisi
  • Mendoza, Lampinen

NINA Board Terms

Bylaws: No fewer than 15, each to serve 3-year terms

Class of 2023 (6)

Penny Wiegert

Open

Dan Campana

Open

Open

Class of 2022 (5)

  • Roger Ruthhart
  • Tom Parisi
  • Margarita Mendoza
  • John Lampinen
  • Dennis Anderson

Class of 2024 (5)

  • Donnell Collins
  • Jay Dickerson
  • Pat Szpekowski
  • Rick Nagel
  • Anne Halston
  • Cristi Kempf

Jason Akst and Shelley Hendricks are appointed to their positions and do not serve terms.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s