NINA’s Ruthhart Joins Lincoln League of Journalists

John Withnal Bailey, Elijah Lovejoy, Minnie Potter, Col. Robert McCormick and NINA's own Roger Ruthhart. Welcome to the Lincoln League.


Sloup Gets The RHINO

“No one ever remembers the Rhino story.” — Lonny Cain, longtime NINA board member, former managing editor of The Times, Ottawa, IL “I thought I had the Rhino won back in '97, but the board gave it to Sammy Sosa, I think.” — John Etheredge, NINA Board member, Kendall County Now “Clearly us old-timers need …

Continue reading Sloup Gets The RHINO

Fall Conference features watchdog, nostalgia, awards

NINA’s 50th anniversary celebration features lots of nostalgia, a respected government watchdog and our annual awards presentation – including a special journalism prize worth $1,000 to the winner. The Fall Conference will be held Thursday evening, Oct. 18, at the Northern Illinois University Convocation Center in DeKalb. The keynote speaker is Andy Shaw, longtime Chicago …

Continue reading Fall Conference features watchdog, nostalgia, awards

From the NINA archives: President Ford’s 1976 visit

For NINA long-timers, here's a fun document from 1976, detailing President Gerald Ford's campaign visit to northern Illinois, including a news conference with NINA, which was then known as the Northern Illinois Editorial Association. Check out pages 19-23 for the list of news conference attendees, including one -- Roger Ruthhart -- who's still on the …

Continue reading From the NINA archives: President Ford’s 1976 visit